Motivated Monday

It’s funny how inspiration hits. I talked about it in the last post, but I got another jolt of it today. Maybe that’s why I’m blogging when blogging is such a difficult thing for me to find the motivation for, for some reason. Hey, I duplicated two words in that sentence…that’s a bad sign. I need to move on!

Last night I was procrastinating studying for my first French midterm  researching for my novel and I came across this article about NASAs new concept warp drive starship and I geeked out all over my mom’s house. It was sad. She stared at me like I had three heads, but of course she usually does that when I geek out over space stuff. Then I found out about Icarus Interstellar and thought 1. Wow, that’s cool 2. Why is there only one woman on their team and 3. WHY WOULD YOU NAME YOUR INTERSTELLAR EXPLORATION COMPANY AFTER ICARUS? Has Greek mythology taught you NOTHING? Did you people not read Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner‘s Starbound series? (BTW – Go read that NOW because those are some of the most awesome Space Opera books ever). Yeah, I get a little worked up over things. Anyway, I thought it was all very interesting and the concept ship inspired me to describe the Tandari ship in my first Darkness book.

Fast forward to today. I was procrastinating studying again contemplating past/present tense in my novel and came across a huge revelation for the direction of my series (because it will be a series y’all. I can’t get it out fast enough and I love it so much I literally can’t do anything but write because reading anything else isn’t good enough while I’m in this honeymoon phase). I wrote down what I came up with and thought I’d share it with you. I hope it doesn’t give too much away, but I’ll probably only leave it up for a while just in case. I love spoilers, but most people aren’t like me.

I sit up with a gasp. Blonde hair falls in waves past my shoulders. I pick it up and stare at it as memories form and coalesce in my mind. I look up into Garret’s face. He’s cupping mine in his hands now. He’s had a thousand names and will have a thousand more before this universe comes to an end. I reach out to Seth and he takes my hand in both of his.

“Are you okay?” Garret asks me.

I nod carefully and adjust my neck. “I remember everything.” He strokes my face and I can hear his soothing thoughts in my head.

“Welcome back, Sister.” Seth squeezes my hand reassuringly. This part is always the hardest. When he says ‘sister’ I’m reminded of the one that will never rejoin us and the pain of her loss hits me like a physical force. I lean forward and Garret catches me as the tears fall down my face, the memory at once distant and excruciatingly new. The part of her that lives inside my own soul swirls and I feel that connection that can never die.

After a few moments, I straighten and dry my face. I look into the eyes of the two beings I love more than any other in this universe. The souls I am forever bound to. “I’m ready,” I say to them. Garret helps me stand and the three of us walk off the platform toward the new destiny that calls us.

If you haven’t read the first chapter in The Darkness Within Us that I posted…um, sometime ago… read it here and tell me what you think in the comments!

So yeah. Of course it will probably change by the time I get to the end, but knowing what I know about the direction of these books, I think it feels like a perfect end. Well, now I have to actually study for this midterm because it’s happening in a couple hours whether I want it to or not.

À la prochaine!

Leave a Reply

