Long Time No Read

Hey y’all! I’m really sorry that it’s been so long since I posted anything. My dashboard says it’s been a month, but I think it’s lying to me. There’s no way it’s been that long! Okay, obviously it has, but I’m pretty big into denial right now.

Anyway, it’s been a pretty exciting four weeks around here. I’ve moved into a new house and discovered all the things one can miss during the first walk through, the second walk through, and the inspection when buying a house. I also forgot how crazy expensive moving into a new house can be – especially when that new house is more than twice the size of your old apartment with one more bedroom and two more bathrooms!

Also, I went on my field trip to the Keys with my class and had an absolute blast! I inadvertently swam with a nurse (or lemon – it was hard to tell when I was terrified) shark as well as several barracuda and a Dory while studying the reef structures. It was amazing!

img_4696

I’ll post some more pictures once I finally download them off my SD card (which I should be doing now since I’m supposed to be sharing with the class…oopsie!).

I’ve finally got back to writing, though. I’ve written a little on Darkness, but I’m also toying with the idea of a straight Romance/maybe Erotic Romance. I’m just outlining it right now and planning the characters, but I’m starting to realize that writing from a male perspective is hard. I know how to flirt as a woman, but describing the way a man would flirt has me drawing a blank. If anyone has any suggestions for this, I’d really appreciate it. I’ve talked to my husband and some guy friends, but there’s only so many questions you can ask before they start to give you “the look”. You know…when they look at you like you’re either crazy or trying to hit on them. It’s not cute. I also realized that I’m pretty naive when it comes to certain aspects of dating which is something I never thought I’d say.Either way, writing outside of my normal genre is helping me with the writers block I’m facing in Darkness right now. I’ve written myself a little out of my outline (though I much prefer the way the story and characters are flowing now), so I’m finding myself in deep water. I’m treading okay, but I was getting tired so I decided to swim over to another section and check it out for a while.

Nice metaphor, huh?

Anywho…let me know if you have any suggestions for learning about male/female dating/mating rituals. Preferably if you’re a straight guy and want to tell me what goes through your head when trying to pick up a woman. Metaphorically speaking, that is. I know how to literally carry a woman around, but that’s not what I’m going for. I’m not writing Neanderthal love stories here…

Leave a Reply

