On Writing What You Want to Read

Hey y’all! I hope you’re doing well! I’m in the home stretch of the end of the semester and things are getting tight. As it stands, I’ve got to read two books and write an eight page paper while cramming my face full of turkey. We’ll see how that goes!

I’m almost 50k words into my novel. I think I’ve been doing pretty good keeping up with NaNoWriMo, but it’s really hard with all my other responsibilities. Oh, what I wouldn’t give to be a full-time writer! But of course, then I’d get bored and want to do something else. Damn this insatiable mind of mine!

On top of writing, I’ve been trying to get a few more books read. I bought Trust & Treachery and Broken & Hunted by Charissa DuFour and read them both in a couple of days. I really liked the first one and thought I was in for something I would enjoy with the series. It had a female main character on a ship with a bunch of men (including a sexy tattooed, pierced pilot with a Mohawk) and so I thought it would have a little romance and some adventure thrown together. It did a fairly good job, but then the second book was just a bunch of running around a city dodging bad guys. I found myself skipping large parts and eventually just reading the end to see who was responsible and how it all tied up. It was predictable and rather blah. Which really broke my heart because I really wanted to love it simply for Bit and Oden.

So here I am at a dead end. I have all these stories in my head that I feel like I need to tell, but at the same time I want to read what comes from other peoples’ imaginations. I want a story that I don’t know the ending to (or at least a good general idea of where it’s going). But I’m sick to death of the shallow love stories that just happen to be set in space. I beautiful captain wrecks her ship and gets taken by a sexy alien. Blah, blah, blah, they have kinky sex and realize that an interspecies relationship is a fantastic idea. There’s little science and even less plot development, but sometimes you get decent characters. Ugh. I’m over it.

I want wide, sweeping epics set across space. I want a love that is bigger than the problems they face, but real and well thought out. I want more than just sex, but some sex if you please. I don’t want a romance set in space and I don’t want straight scifi that removes all human emotion and interpersonal connection between genders (I prefer straight sex in my stories, but not always so – I’m not totally opposed to some queer sex and honestly feel that it’s been lacking in mainstream genres). I want something real in the midst of action that’s not contrived. Is that too much to ask for? Am I seriously the only one looking for this? Do SciFi Romance readers only want the suck-fuck-lets start a family despite our vast genetic differences story? Do straight Sci Fi readers not want anything to do with all that lovey dovey shit? I’m at a loss here. Why is more of this not being written?

These aren’t rhetorical questions, guys. I’d really love to hear your answers.

Leave a Reply

