Progress

Hey my faithful readers! I hope you’ve had a good weekend. Mine was quite interesting and full of lots of things that didn’t involve writing, as much as I tried to squeeze it in. This semester is taking a lot more of my time than I anticipated, but I’m reading Octavia Butler’s Dawn, so there’s that. Could be worse than being forced to read award-winning science fiction, right?

OMG…tangent…so as you know, I have been struggling over what to do for my cover. I would love to hire someone to do it, but with this being my first and having no income coming in to support it, it’s hard for me to justify the $400 it would take to get one done. I’ve been toying with the idea of doing my own since I have a background as a professional photographer and want something fairly simple anyway. I finally decided to at least give it a try, so I started looking at stock photography only to find that the only stock photos I can find of a woman that would fit the look of Anais cost as much as a professional cover would (since I can only find the pose and background I need on Getty).

26dd546d2347c6256389dc44d0e95994
This is the kind of cover I’m going for, but with a space feel. Gotta keep it in the genre, ya know!

Here’s to the point. I just asked a random girl on campus to model for me. I know photographers do that kind of thing all the time, and I’m a super outgoing person, but it’s just not me. I’ve never been good at that kind of thing and it was really awkward. If she decides to come check out my blog and finds this, it’ll probably make it worse, but I’ll just have to roll with it. I just hope she doesn’t think I’m too weird. I mean, obviously I’m not “normal”, but at least my brand of weird isn’t terrible. I have friends that would (hopefully) attest to that, lol.

So anyway, back to what I was going for before. What was that, again? Oh yeah…progress.

I’ve found that once I hit the middle of my first draft (I’m going for 100k words since it’s science fiction) I’m having a hard time moving forward at the same pace. It’s not that I don’t know where it’s going or don’t have the words to say, I’m just getting bogged down with how to say it. I want to keep continuity and keep doubting myself. I know I need to get out of that, but it’s hard to have confidence when I’m in an echo chamber. My one beta reader is loving it so far, but it would be nice to have more to help me get through this over the hump push.

Enter Patreon. I decided to start a Patreon account to hopefully increase my reach and find a fan base of eager readers that would sponsor my work in return for free chapters and other benefits. I’ve heard good things from my other creative friends, but there don’t seem to be many writers on there so I’m a little leery of the whole thing. Have any of you tried it? What was your experience? Feel free to check mine out at https://www.patreon.com/user?u=4880838 and tell me what you think of everything. Of course, I’d love you to become a patron, but that’s not what I’m necessarily going for with this post. I just want to know it’s the best it possibly could be.

And if anyone wants to become a beta reader please let me know! I’d love to have your input!

Drop me a line, send me a comment, tell me how you’ve been. I’d love to hear from you guys!

Leave a Reply

